top of page

Take It From Me, It Is Worth The Risk

Are you on the fence about going out for sorority recruitment? Joining a sorority can be an intimidating thing. Trust me.

 

I remember registering for recruitment and immediately nervous of what organization would want me as their sister. Before I went through recruitment I can not tell you the number of times I tried looking up what recruitment was actually going to be like, or what really went on during this intimidating weekend. I asked upperclassmen if they knew what I should wear to each round, or what I could say to make the sorority members like me. Now I know that these weren't the things that the women were looking for.

I am here to tell you that no matter how scary the process might seem, to begin with, it is 100% worth your time. Regardless of if you end up joining a sorority or not, going through the recruitment process is a huge learning experience, and can only help you grow as a person. What do you have to lose? Try something new. Step out of your comfort zone.

I could go on and on about reasons why joining a sorority is such an amazing opportunity but for now, I will just stick to the following three:

OPPURTUNITY

Sorority is a word with endless opportunities. Going through recruitment, you will learn about each sorority's philanthropy, which should play a part in making your decision in which sorority you might like to join. Sigma Delta Tau has shown me what my passions are in life. Advocating for those who are unable to advocate for themselves. My sorority has provided me with a multitude of service events that I am able to participate in that support a cause that I am truly interested in.

SDT supports the fight against child abuse and domestic violence, and not only do we participate in events at other locations, but we also host our own. This opens up a world of opportunity for an individual to help out in anything varying from planning, setting up, promoting, and so much more.

Another way a sorority is sure to provide you with ways to get involved is through leadership positions. There is a position to be held in almost any field you could probably think of. There are positions ranging from event planning, social media, recruitment, as well as ones that involve risk management, and presidency. I have held positions ranging in importance from the moment I joined my organization. Each position has allowed me to grow into the leader I am today. There are so many aspects of what makes a sorority, and you are sure to find a position if that is your desire, that suits you and your personal niche. There is a place for everyone.

COMMUNITY One of the main reasons I wanted to join a sorority in the first place was to have a group of women that I could depend on. But my concern was to find women that encompassed the same values and morals as I do. Through joining a sorority, I have been able to find an amazing group of girls that I can relate to, and that I know will be my lifelong friends. Through attending events hosted by your sorority, and even just going to weekly chapter meetings, you will constantly be greeted by those you call your sisters. This group of women will know every struggle, every triumph, every secrete because you trust them. Knowing that you are all in these same things together and that this same group of girls is always going to be there to support you through all of your college, and life experience, good and bad. I could not be more grateful for this community that I am a part. Because the once friendly faces, are now some of my best friends.

A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE

Joining a sorority is a lifetime commitment. I know that it sounds like a lot right now, but it is not a task. This experience lasts a lifetime because you want it to. Being in a sorority does not end after graduating college. There will always be moments for continuous involvement. Having met alumnae from my organization ranging all over America, has shown me that volunteering doesn't have to stop after my undergrad. Being able to connect with sorority members from other generations creates a world of networking opportunities for you, and who knows what kinds of amazing connections you may make?

I do not think there has been one time since I joined my sorority that a women has not approached me in the airport excited to see me wearing our greek letters. I have had professors come up to me because of my apparel happy to tell me that his wife was a part of the chapter years ago. These interactions prove to me that I will always be a sorority woman.

 

So what do you think? Not so bad after all? Hopefully my testimony has shown you all that a sorority can provide you with. Recruitment is just the beginning to an endless journey. Take it from me, it is worth the risk!

If you have any questions about recruitment, or our organization, you can reach us through our contact form on our website. We hope to see you at Spring Formal Recruitment!

bottom of page